WE REMEMBER DIFFERENTLY – CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE.

While reading the Nigerian Pilot Newspapers, September 12, 2013 issue, I came across Chimamanda Adichie’s write up on page 50, and I must say I was impressed with the lady’s thoughts and view point. How I wish most Nigerian and igbo women to be precise, would have her thinking capabilities. She is truly an amazon.

I remember quite differently how we survived the post war era. My parents really didn’t talk much about it. My mum talked of how she hid in a car trunk and escaped from lagos while still in nursing school. My dad had a journal were he wrote mostly hateful stuff about the northerners. He had a copy of Frederick Forsyth’s book on Ojukwu. Some of my uncle’s fought in the war and narrated how the killed hausa POW’s and fed fat on their bodies as meat. I agree with Adichie, we do remember differently.

Here is a link of which you guys can read her excellent write up, http://nigerianpilot.com/we-remember-differently.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

